Show All Answers
IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR DMV CLEARANCE: If you pay on line or over the telephone today (using a credit, debit or ATM card) you will NOT be cleared for DMV for at least TWO BUSINESS DAYS. If you use an E check for delinquent motor vehicle taxes, you may need to wait several WEEKS for clearance.
If you owe back motor vehicle taxes to any Connecticut municipality, you will be unable to renew ANY vehicle, snowmobile, or vessel registrations with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), per Connecticut General Statute 14-33. Past due motor vehicle taxes must be paid in full by cash, cashiers’ check, money order, MasterCard, VISA, debit card, or ATM card in order to receive DMV clearance. You also must pay a fee of $5 per vehicle, per year in order to be cleared to register at the DMV.
If you pay with an ‘E Check’, you must provide proof your check has cleared your bank before receiving clearance. All DMV clearances are now processed electronically, online, overnight.
The Tax Collector’s Office is open for in person payments, Monday through Friday from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm. If you pay your back taxes in person today, your clearance will be processed overnight, and you would be clear to register at DMV the following business day.
The best way to avoid problems and issues with the DMV is to pay your motor vehicle taxes on time, when they are due.
If you need a clearance today: 1.) If we are able to assist you, we can tell you what you owe; 2.) you can pay at our window, go on line, or call our payment line and make your payment; 3.) then, you can call us back, we can verify your payment, and; 4.) if we are able to access the DMV system, we can clear you immediately (today). We will charge you an additional fee of $20, payable to the City of Norwalk, for "Express" DMV clearance. This fee is added only if you request immediate clearance, and only if we are able to provide it to you. This service may not always be available depending on our staffing, and because the DMV online system may not always be accessible. We are absolutely committed to helping you with an immediate clearance as long as we are able to do so.
If you can wait a few days: You can pay your motor vehicle taxes online or by telephone, and you will be cleared within two or three business days. You must allow at least two business days for the steps that need to be taken to process your payment (first) and submit clearance to DMV (second).
All outstanding vehicle taxes in your name, including taxes not yet delinquent, must be paid in full for a release to be issued.
The state of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles encourages taxpayers to transact business on line. Access the Department of Motor Vehicles on line from the link on the tax collector’s home page. You can check compliance status (property taxes, insurance, emissions, etc.), renew or cancel license plates, change information DMV has on file for you or your vehicles, and more.
If you have questions about what you owe, please contact the tax collector’s office at (203) 854-7731 or by fax at (203) 854-7770. You may also access your property tax records on line by clicking the E Tax Bill link. During COVID-19, our website is being updated daily.
View additional methods for paying your taxes.
If you think are being billed improperly for a motor vehicle you MUST contact the Assessor’s Office. The Tax Collector’s Office CANNOT make adjustments for you. This is handled by a different division. Please do not come to our payment window to attempt to deal with this issue. Our staff will NOT be able to help you with this.
You MUST contact the Assessor’s Office at (203) 854-7888, by fax at (203) 854-7986, or in person at the Assessor’s Office in city hall, during the same hours the tax collector's office is open. Please do not ignore your bill. Even if your vehicle has been:
If any of these situations applies to you, you may be entitled to a credit. Contact the assessor’s office for information regarding the acceptable forms of proof for the issuance of a credit and bill adjustment. Two forms of written proof are required, and you must apply for the credit within a limited time.
If you got rid of one car, and put the license plates from that vehicle ONTO ANOTHER CAR: You will not have to apply for a credit; it will be handled automatically. You will be responsible for paying the current bill on the "old" vehicle; you also should have received (December 2021) a pro rated bill on the replacement vehicle ("new" vehicle) with credit for what you pay now on the old vehicle. This occurs ONLY IF you put the same plates on the newer vehicle.
If you got rid of a car, and cancelled the registration, or did not put those plates onto another car, you must contact the assessor's office for information regarding acceptable forms of proof for the issuance of a credit and bill adjustment. (See above.)
Please note that you may have to present your paperwork and then wait up to several days for a response from city staff. Please note, this CANNOT be handled by the tax collector’s staff. You will be referred to the Assessor’s Office.
The easiest, most convenient, most economical, and most reliable way to make your tax payment is by E Check (Electronic Check / ACH payment). This can be done online or over the telephone. There is a modest charge of only $1.25 for paying by E Check. No actual check writing; no stamp, trips to the mailbox, no paper. Avoid the anxiety and delay of mailing your payment. The payment is secure and timely. The fee for an E Check is usually less than the fees incurred when using a credit, debit or ATM card to pay. Go to the following link: https://www.invoicecloud.com/cityofnorwalkct or call (203) 318-9523.
Norwalk City Hall re-opened fully on May 21, 2021. The tax collector’s office is open for in person transactions, with no appointment necessary, from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm. Payments may be made by credit card, debit card, ATM card, check, money order, or cash. There is no longer a requirement to wear a mask in Norwalk City Hall. If you have questions about the mask policy or other COVID related policies, please contact the Mayor's Office, or refer to the Mayor's COVID 19 updates.
You may still make your payment by mail. A courtesy reply envelope is included with your tax bill if you wish to pay by mail, or you may send your payment to: Tax Collector, City of Norwalk, PO Box 5530, South Norwalk CT 06856. Be sure to write your list numbers on your check. List numbers are shown on your payment coupons. If you wish to have a receipt returned to you, please send the entire lower portion of your tax bill (both payment coupons) and a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your payment. You may expect to receive a receipt back within a few days. We will not send back your receipt if you fail to include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Payments legibly postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service on or before Tuesday, February 1, 2022, are on time, regardless of when they are received by the Tax Collector’s office. For your own benefit, obtain a ‘receipt of mailing’ from the U.S. Postal Service when mailing your payment if you choose to mail your payment close to the deadline.
Pay your bill anytime, anywhere - online or telephone payments with a credit, debit, or ATM card. As noted above, for a modest fee of $1.25, you may pay by ACH payment (E Check) from our website or by phone. This affords you the certainty that your payment has been received, eliminates anxiety and worry about mail delivery, eliminates the burden of going to city hall or one of the local banks to pay in person, and allows you to process the transaction at a time that is convenient to you.
There are additional non-refundable fees charged by our payment provider, Invoice Cloud, for securely processing credit, debit and ATM card payments. Fees are 2.75% of the total, and are always disclosed up front.
To pay by credit, debit, or ATM card, or by E Check, call (203) 318-9523, or go to : https://www.invoicecloud.com/cityofnorwalkct
Taxpayers were able to pay their tax bills in person at area banks prior to February 1. You did not have to be a customer of the bank in order to pay there, and there was no charge to you for this service. This service is provided subject to the bank branches’ ability to transact business due to COVID-19; service may be limited to drive through service, or there may be other limitations, depending on the branch. This option was available only through February 1, 2022 (the last day to pay without interest). A list of participating bank branches is found elsewhere on this website. You will receive a receipt from the bank, so bring your entire tax bill with you for this purpose. We hope to be able to offer this service once again in June 2022.
The first installment was due on July 1, 2021. The second installment was due on January 1, 2022. Taxpayers have a one month grace period in which to pay without interest, so the first installment was payable by Monday, August 2, 2021 (because August 1 fell on a Sunday). The second installment was payable by February 1, 2022.
Interest is charged on all past due payments regardless of the reason at the rate of 1.5% per month from the due date (July 1 or January 1). A portion of a month is considered a full month, and interest is not charged by the day, but by the month. If you pay your first installment during the month of May, 2022, you owe 16.5% interest, representing 11 months (July 2021 through May 2022, inclusive), as interest reverts back to the July 1, 2021 due date. If you pay your second installment (due Jan. 1, 2022) during the month of May 2022, you owe 7.5% interest, representing 5 months (January through May 2022, inclusive) as interest reverts back to the January 1 due date.
Demand notices for the first installment were sent in September 2021 and again for the second installment in February 2022.
Taxpayers making payment on past due bills should contact the tax collector’s office, or check the city website, before making their payment, to determine exactly what they owe. Past due notices are sent in September (for the first installment) and in February (for the second installment). Lien continuing certificates were filed in March. There is an additional charge of $24 to release the lien filed on applicable tax bills for payments received after the lien certificates are filed. Tax sales of tax delinquent property are usually held every two years. The most recent tax sale was held on Monday, October 18, 2021 and the deadline to redeem sold properties was April 18, 2022. Please refer to the tax sale link on this site for important updates and other information.
Interest is charged on all late payments, regardless of the reason. As owners of property, taxpayers are responsible for paying taxes when they are due, regardless of whether or not a tax bill is received in the mail. For additional information about these specifics, please refer to the tax collector’s legal notices published on the tax collector’s home page.