Dog Licenses

Dog Licenses Renew in June. Dog owners may renew their licenses online, by mail, or using the Town Clerk Drop Box located outside of Town Hall. If you use the Drop Box, please follow the "renewal through US mail" instructions below and clearly write "Town Clerk" on the outside of the envelope before putting it into the Drop Box.


Licensing Law Overview


State law mandates that all dogs over six months of age must be licensed in the town in which they reside and must wear the tag on a collar around their neck. All dog licenses are renewed in June to become effective July 1. All licenses renewed after July 1 are subject to a penalty of $1.00 per month. All dogs licensed in the State of Connecticut require a current rabies vaccination. The Town Clerk encourages everyone to license a NEW dog by U.S. mail or process RENEWALS for dogs that are currently registered utilizing our online renewal system. Please see more detailed information and applicable links below regarding new licensing and renewals.


New Licenses (US Mail)


When licensing for the first time, you must provide proof if your dog has been spayed or neutered. Puppies must be licensed by the time they turn 6 months old. Dogs new to you that are 6 months old or older must be licensed within 30 days of obtaining them. You must provide documentation from the veterinarian showing the expiration date of your dog’s rabies vaccination (not the tag). No licenses will be issued without this information. If your dog has been spayed or neutered, you must bring documentation from the veterinarian as proof (or check your rabies certificate as it might state that your dog is an "MN" (male neutered) or an "FS" (female spayed).

Fees:
The fee for licensing an unaltered dog is $19.00. The fee for licensing a spayed or neutered dog is $8.00. Licenses not applied for within the required 30 days will be subject to a penalty of $1.00 per month.

Please provide the documentation and fee as outlined above, along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Current (2021) postage for 1 tag is 75 cents and 2 tags is 95 cents. Please add 20 cents for each additional tag if you have more than two dogs. If you are licensing a new dog by U.S. mail, please also include your name, address, phone number, email address, the dog’s name, age, breed and color, rabies certificate and spay/neuter certificate as noted above or click here for a printable application (then scroll to the bottom of the page for the English or Spanish versions).  

Additional Fees


There is a $1 penalty fee per month (or fraction thereof) when an owner fails to license a dog after it becomes six months old.

When dog owners move to another Connecticut town, they must present their current license and tag to the town clerk of the new town of residence. A new tag and license will be issued at a cost of $1.

Lost Norwalk dog tags may be replaced for 50 cents.
 

Renewals (Online or through US Mail)

Renewing Online:


Click Here to Renew Dog License(s) Online
Every dog must be licensed when it becomes six months old and then annually every June.

You will need:
  • The license year and dog tag # (for privacy/security) - These can be found on the paper license or the actual dog tag. 
  • If your dog’s rabies vaccination has expired since the last time you licensed your dog, you must provide documentation (tags do not qualify) from the veterinarian showing the new expiration date. PLEASE BE CERTAIN THE CERTIFICATE YOU ARE UPLOADING INCLUDES A CURRENT (UNEXPIRED) RABIES EXPIRATION DATE. 
  • **NEW**: IF YOUR ARE RENEWING IN THE MONTH OF JUNE EITHER ONLINE OR BY MAIL, THE RABIES EXPIRATION DATE MUST BE VALID FOR THE JULY 1ST LICENSING START DATE. 
  • You must scan these documents in a valid Windows' Image format - e.g. JPEG, TIFF, GIF, BMP or PNG. PDF is not accepted. 

    Please note: When renewing online, any transaction <$125 will be subject to a $1.00 convenience fee, which will be paid directly to Official Payments.

Renewal through US Mail:


For renewal through U.S. Mail, please provide documentation and fee as outlined above along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Current (2021) postage for 1 tag is 75 cents; 2 tags is 95 cents. Please add 20 cents for each additional tag if you have more than one dog. Also please include your name, address, phone number, email address, the dog’s name, age, breed and color.

NEW DOG OWNER TRANSFERS FROM SAME OR OTHER TOWN WITHIN CONNECTICUT
 Any person becoming an owner of an already Connecticut licensed dog shall mail the license and tag to the Town Clerk of the town in Connecticut where they reside and, for a fee of $1.00, shall receive a new license and tag in their name. The Town Clerk must retain the old license and tag. If the license and tag are not presented, the new owner must purchase a new license and tag at the full prevailing price.

CURRENT DOG OWNER MOVES TO ANOTHER TOWN WITHIN CONNECTICUT
 If a dog owner moves their residence to another town within Connecticut, they shall mail the license and tag to the Town Clerk of their new town who shall, for a fee of $0.50, issue a new license and tag. The Town Clerk must retain the old license and tag. If the license and tag are not presented, the owner must purchase a new license and tag at the full prevailing price.

GUIDE DOGS
  
Any blind, deaf or mobility impaired person who is the owner or keeper of a dog which has been trained to guide and educated to guide and assist such person in traveling upon the public streets or highways or otherwise shall receive a license and tag for such dog from the Town Clerk of the town where such dog is owned or kept, and no fee shall be charged to the owner or keeper of any such dog. When any such dog has not been previously licensed by the Town Clerk to whom application is being made, such clerk shall not license such dog or issue to the owner a license and tag unless written evidence is presented to such clerk that the dog is trained and educated and intended in fact to perform such guide service for such applicant. Any person who has a dog placed with such person temporarily, including for breeding purposes, by a nonprofit organization established for the purpose of training or educating guide dogs to so assist blind, deaf or mobility impaired persons shall receive a license and tag for such dog from the Town Clerk of the town where such dog is kept, and no fee shall be required for such license and tag, provided such person presents written evidence that such dog was placed with such person by such organization. As defined by the Connecticut statutes, a "deaf person" means a person who cannot readily understand spoken language through hearing alone and who may also have a speech defect which renders such person's speech unintelligible to most people with normal hearing.

LOST TAGS
 (In person) If your dog loses its tag, a replacement can be obtained for $0.50.

KENNEL LICENSES (U.S. Mail) Kennel licenses are available as follows:
  •  No More Than 10 Dogs: $50.00 plus $1.00 for a group of 10 dog tags = $51.00
  • More Than 10 Dogs: $100.00 plus $1.00 for each group of 10 tags requested. The late fee for kennel licenses is $1.00 per license.

    Violations Violation of the licensing law carries a fine to be imposed by the Animal Control Officer. For further information, please visit the Animal Control web page.

Additional Information

  • Every dog must be licensed when it becomes six months old and then annually every June.
  • No license may be issued unless a valid rabies certificate, signed by a licensed veterinarian and including the date of the vaccination and duration of immunity, is presented to the town clerk.
  • To assist in the licensing process, notices are mailed annually in May to all Norwalk dog owners.